The key to an allergy-free diet is to avoid all foods or products containing the food to which you are allergic. A soy allergy is an abnormal response of the body to the proteins found in soy. Soybeans are classified as a legume. Other foods in the legume family are navy, kidney, string, black and pinto beans, chickpeas (garbanzo beans), lentils, carob, licorice, and peanuts. Sensitivity to peanuts is the most common, but soybean sensitivity is also prevalent. Sensitivity to one legume can often be in association with sensitivity to another legume.
|Breads & starches||Breads, baked goods, cereals not containing soy ingredients
Potato chips or popcorn cooked in soy oil (Note: Most soy oil does not contain soy protein, which causes soy allergy, because the soy protein is removed during processing. Thus, soy oil generally does not cause allergy symptoms. However, those with soy allergies should check with their doctors about consuming products containing soy oil or processed with soy oil.)
Plain macaroni, rice, barley, rye, wheat, oats, or grits
|Breads, crackers, cakes, rolls, or pastries containing peanuts, peanut oil, soy flour
Processed and "natural" cereals that contain soy ingredients
|Vegetables||Fresh, frozen, or canned vegetables (except those listed as not allowed) without sauces or breading containing soy ingredients||Soybeans, soybean sprouts
Any vegetables prepared with sauces or breading containing soy products
|Fruit||All fresh, frozen, or canned fruits and juices processed without soy products||Fruit drink mixes or sauces/toppings for fruit that contain soy ingredients|
|Soy-based formulas, coffee substitutes with soy, instant coffee, hot cocoa mixes, malt beverages, fruit drink mixes made with soy ingredients|
|Meat & Meat Substitutes||Any fresh or frozen beef, chicken, lamb, pork, turkey, veal, or fish served without prepackaged sauces, breading, or gravy||Pork link sausage, deli/luncheon meats made with soy
Commercially prepared meats where soy is used as a meat extender
Meat or cheese substitutes that contain soy: tofu/bean curd, natto, miso
Textured vegetable protein (TVP)
|Milk & Milk Products||Milk, cheese, cottage cheese, or yogurt without soy products||Milk drinks or milk substitutes that contain soy|
|Soups & Combination Foods||Homemade soups and commercial soups that do not contain soybeans||Soy is used in many canned soups, commercial entrees, and combination foods|
|Desserts & Sweets||Ice cream, gelatin, cookies made without soy ingredients||Baked goods, such as cakes or cookies that contain soy flour
Soy products may be used in some commercial ice creams and other frozen desserts
Hard candies, nut candies, fudge, and caramels made with soy flour
|Fats & Oils||Butter, margarines, shortening||Margarine and butter substitutes
Some salad dressings, mayonnaise, sauces, or gravies containing soy products
Roasted soybeans or "soy nuts"
|Condiments & Miscellaneous||Sugar, honey, molasses, catsup, mustard, jelly, jam, plain sugar candies, syrup, pickles||Commercial vegetarian products and meat substitutes
Heinz Worcestershire sauce, Lea & Perrins sauce, fermented soybean pastes (miso and natto)
Soy sauce, tamari sauce, granola, or breakfast bars made with soy
Imitation bacon bits made with soy
Be sure to avoid foods that contain any of the following ingredients:
Contact the manufacturer to identify the natural flavorings in foods. Ask if soy is used as a carrier protein for the natural flavoring.
Contact the company to identify the vegetable broths, gums, and starches, as they have the potential to be soy.
Studies show that most soy-allergic individuals may safely eat products that contain soy lecithin and soy oils. These substances are fat-based, and people with allergies react to the protein portion of the food.
Click here to view the
Online Resources of Allergy & Asthma