親愛的同仁:

2 月份是美國心臟月 (American Heart Month)。這是一個讓我們心血管醫療服務更精益求精的好時機。本院自 15 年前成立心臟手術醫療機構以來,整個心血管醫療計畫逐漸茁壯成長,讓我們成為皇后區的主要心臟疾病治療醫院。

過去一年內,心臟和血管中心及凱里尼亞心臟中心 (Kyrenia Heart Center) 發表數個獨步醫界的研究,為本院帶來無比殊榮。這些成就要歸功於本院傑出的教授及志願奉獻的醫療團隊。
眾所周知,且有相當多文件可證明本院病患的治癒率非常高,而過去一年有數個令人印象深刻的事件,包括:

  • 我們的心臟計畫在全國急性心肌梗塞 (AMI) 照護排名前 10 %。並得到美國聯邦醫療保險與醫療補助中心 (Centers for Medicare and Medicaid) 針對 AMI 評比得分為 100% 的評價。
  • 心臟和急診醫療團隊為急診室開發出新的胸痛醫療方案,
    明顯降低因胸痛住院治療的人數,並且縮短病患的住院時間。
  • 我們逐漸地改由經過病患的手腕來執行更多心導管檢查 ,而不是使用從腹股溝動脈插入導管的傳統方法。對於進行此手術的病患而言是一大福音,因為經過手腕插入導管可以減少瘀傷及出血,而且較少發生併發症。在美國,我們是少數能夠提供此方法的心臟醫療中心,因為此方法需要高水準的醫療技術。
  • 自 2009 年初 Samuel Lang, M.D. 到本院擔任心臟血管暨胸腔外科部主任以來,執行心臟手術的數量增加了 72%。

為了致力保護社區居民心臟健康,我們已研擬完整的免費課程,以教育大眾有關心臟疾病的資訊以及本院完整的心臟計畫 (如需詳細資訊,請參閱「最新課程」網頁)。

除了將我們自己打造成皇后區的主要心臟疾病治療醫院之外,根據美國聯邦標準,我們也被認可為美國最安全的醫院之一。我們每天都將維護病患安全擺在醫療工作的第一位,藉此實踐這個理念。 

病患安全是全國大眾所關注的。美國醫療機構評鑑聯合會 (The Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations) 是全國性健康照護機構的認證單位,負責審查全國醫院中經常發生的病患安全疏失案例。今年,美國醫療機構評鑑聯合會發佈七項全國性病患安全目標,做為所有認可醫院以及取得認證的標準。 

其中一項目標就是降低與感染有關的醫療照護風險。透過改變既有療程,並對包括醫生、護士及所有看護者在內的人員研發新療程,來降低院內感染。有些過去被認為正確的傳統方法已被摒棄,改採以實證為基礎、且對病患最有利的方法來重新建構療程。 (如需更多相關成果的資訊,請參閱第 4 頁「更安全的病患照護」)。

如果臨床醫療團隊未以安全的方式提供醫療照護,則空有純熟的醫療技術,仍不能嘉惠病患。我們招募醫師和醫院工作人員時,是以非常嚴謹審慎的態度判斷他們是否能遵守所有安全規則。

此致,


Stephen S. Mills, F.A.C.H.E.

人事與計畫

人事消息

海地人民
自從海地發生強烈地震已經經過數星期。這段期間,我們的員工和醫護人員在海地提供各種醫療援助,包括財務、情緒以及特定情況下的醫療救援任務。對受此災難影響的朋友和同仁,以及要經歷漫長復原之路的海地人民,我們會持續給予關懷,並為他們禱告。

我們的醫療團隊
為了和醫界分享我們的研究成果,我們的醫療團隊、醫師和臨床醫師在同行評議的期刊上發表許多研究成果,也在醫學研討會上報告相關成果。另外還在各醫學組織發表演說。此外,我們的醫師也常獲邀成為專業學會和組織的領導人。

Amit Chandra, M.D.,急診醫學科主治醫師,
於 2010 年 1 月合著刊登於 Journal of Emergencies, Trauma, and Shock,標題為
“Ultrasound-Guided Nerve Blocks in the Emergency Department”。本論文為
位於美國的醫師以及遠在印度的醫師之國際醫療合作共同成果。

Burton S. Wasserman, D.D.S.,牙齒和口腔醫學中心主任,
於印度比卡納的 S. P. 醫學院 (S. P. Medical College) 演講,題目為 "Treating Special Needs Patients in A Changing Environment”,
由印度牙科學會 (India Dental Association) 贊助。

Charles Lombardi, D.P.M.,小兒科主任,再次被足科醫學
教育委員會 (Council on Podiatric Education,CPME) 遴選為此全國性組織的理事,此組織負責認可所有足科
住院醫師及足科醫學院資格,以及認證足科專業。此外,
還被選為國家足科醫學考試委員會 (National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners,NBPME) 財務主管,
此委員會負責擬定和管理足科醫學生的足科認證考試。

代表本院的民選官員
我們恭喜本市推派的民選官員於上個月宣誓就職。紐約皇后區醫院 (NYHQ) 位於第 20 選區。下方列出代表皇后區的民選官員。

市辦公室

市長 Michael R. Bloomberg
公益維護人 William De Blasio
主計長 John Liu (原第 20 選區議會議員)

皇后區辦公室

皇后區區長 Helen Marshall
副區長 Barry Grodenchik

代表皇后區的市議會議員

Daniel Halloran III (第 19 選區 – Bayside、Whitestone)
Peter Koo (第 20 選區 -- Flushing)
Julissa Ferreras (第 21 選區 -- Corona)
Peter Vallone (第 22 選區 -- Astoria)
Mark Weprin (第 23 選區 -- Hollis 和皇后區東部)
James Gennaro (第 24 選區 -- Fresh Meadows)
Daniel Dromm (第 25 選區 -- Jackson Heights)
James Van Bramer (第 26 選區 -- Long Island City)
Leroy Comrie Jr. (第 27 選區 -- St. Albans 和皇后區東南部)
Thomas White Jr. (第 28 選區 -- Richmond Hill、Rochdale Village 及 South Jamaica)
Karen Koslowitz (第 29 選區 -- Forest Hills 和皇后區中部)
Elizabeth Crowley (第 30 選區 -- Middle Village 和皇后區西部)
James Sanders Jr. (第 31 選區 -- 皇后區東南部)
Eric Ulrich (第 32 選區 -- Howard Beach 和 Rockaways)

 

 計畫新聞

  讓醫師與大眾深入瞭解骨科與
復健
因為我們希望打造一個世界級的骨科與復健計畫,所以必須確定這項計畫符合社區醫師及其病患的需求。

位於 Fresh Meadows 的骨科與復健中心成立於 2009 年,將病患轉診至此進行治療的醫師與復健專科醫師給予我們許多正面的評價。為了顧及病患的需求,已經延長本中心的門診時間。今年一月份時,我們邀請一些社區醫師與復健專科醫師於開放參觀日來此瞭解最新的骨科技術和治療方法。他們參觀了最新的設備及瞭解先進的技術工具,包括用於評估暈眩、頭暈或失衡等不適的前庭診斷設備。

我們擴大骨科計畫的其中一個原因是皇后區的人口老化速度比這個城市的其他區域都要快。隨著本地的骨科與復健服務需求不斷成長,骨骼、肌肉和關節疾病方面的公眾教育需求也持續增加。在上個月的免費社區專題討論會中,我們的專科醫師提供這些主題的最新消息,以及我們的團隊施行的骨科微創手術的各項優點。

  藝術傑作—紐約皇后區醫院 (NYHQ) 小兒科病房
這是一個能夠吸引小朋友、並讓他們覺得友善的環境,病童和他們的家人在此都能放鬆心情。透過藝術、想像力和大幅的畫作,兒童住院病房變成了一個大型的藝術創作。走廊上的壁畫展現出兒童眼中所看到的美麗皇后區,包括整個紐約大都會、科學大樓和皇后動物園。這項計畫的成功歸功於多位贊助者的合作努力,包括星光兒童基金會 (Starlight Children's Foundation)、壁畫藝術創作組織 Splashes of Hope 以及 Benjamin Moore 油漆的捐款。上個月已經由社區領袖、官方代表和社區小兒科醫師共同揭幕。


紐約皇后區醫院 (NYHQ) 血管照護的另一項創舉

Gregg Landis, M.D. 是血管與血管腔外科主任兼外科部副主任,近期採用微創內視鏡手術修補胸主動脈瘤。這是本院首次進行的血管腔支架置入手術—我們也確信這是皇后區所有醫院的第一次手術。

皇后區主要心臟疾病治療醫院的心臟月
身為皇后區的主要心臟疾病治療醫院—我們提供的醫療專業服務足深受皇后區的居民信賴。我們把預防和治療心臟疾病的社區教育視為自己的責任。因此將這個月定為「心臟月」。

心臟和血管中心的醫護人員將於 2 月 24 日舉辦第二次的年度社區專題討論會。我們安排了長達一個月的活動,整個二月民眾都可以參加免費健康篩檢、Flushing 圖書館講座系列、專題討論會和其他心臟健康活動,請按一下這裡

我們於 2 月 5 日邀請社區領袖、官方代表和志願醫護人員的所有成員,共同宣導認識心臟健康的重要。我們計畫中午在醫院的自助餐廳召集所有熱心的「紅衣人」,並提供大量照片給新聞媒體,進行這項宣導活動。晚上則是在 Flushing Meadows-Corona Park,由皇后區公園管理局助理局長 Estelle Cooper 點亮公園內 Unisphere 地球儀的紅燈。如需所有心臟月活動的詳細資訊,請撥打 (718) 670-1586。


進展

更安全的病患照護
由本院醫務長 Stephen Rimar, M.D. 帶領的病患安全委員會,擁有超過 100 位醫院管理人員,每週都會檢查全院的安全措施—以其中一個最好的可行方式—實際巡視病患樓層,了解是否確實執行各項安全規則。

我們已經在 2009 年加強了一些安全程序。在降低健康照護相關的感染目標方面也有顯著的成果:

  • 外科加護病房沒有發生任何因置入中心導管 IV 而導致感染的案例。
  • 與呼吸器有關的肺炎比率減少 60 % (6 個月沒有任何案例),ICU 泌尿道感染的比率減少 70 % (5 個月沒有任何案例)。
  • 根據國家護理品質資料庫的指標 (National Database of Nursing Quality Indicators) 資料顯示,我們減少了 75 % 的院內壓瘡發生率,而全院身體約束的使用則減少 58 %。同時,重症照護區域沒有使用任何身體約束。
  • 我們在所有急性心肌梗塞 (心臟病發作) 評估的達成率為 100 %,根據 Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 的統計,在全國醫院排名前 10 %。而在其他評估類別—肺炎照護、外科照護和心臟衰竭照護方面,也持續領先州和美國國家的基準。此外,心臟手術死亡率遠低於州的平均值。
  • 我們從到達急診室到進行經由皮膚冠狀動脈的介入性手術 (心導管和支架置入術) 的平均時間少於 60 分鐘。

紐約長老教會健康照護系統 (NewYork-Presbyterian Healthcare System) 於 2010 年確立三個病患安全重點,而本院為該系統的成員,所以這些也是我們的重點。這些重點包括建立新程序以避免再度住院和院內感染,以及提升本院護理和醫護人員的病患安全教育。
 

重大現代化方案更新
新建的西側大樓是一棟七層樓的建築,工程正緊鑼密鼓的進行中。建築物的外觀已經接近完工。正在裝設外觀的帷幕牆、窗戶和金屬壁板,並已放置臨時升降機。這些工程會在幾個星期之內完成。六部新電梯其中的兩部已經通過檢查,並經核准可以開始運作。

             
外觀帷幕牆裝設工程,升降機運作中。

               
電梯的進度。

主要機械設備和緊急發電機的工程於上個月開始進行。鍋爐、加熱系統和瓦斯服務的工程正等待市府建管處的核准。

至於內部工程,一、二樓的天花板隔音磚鋪設、照明設備和廁所衛浴的磁磚都在施工中。

四樓和五樓的所有機械、電力和初步配管,包括 IT 纜線都已完成,目前正在進行其他樓層的工程。兩間心臟與血管介入性治療室的醫療設備已裝設完畢。

我們希望能在下個月公布剪綵的日期。

###

 

 

 


 

Connect Healthcare Panacea CMS Solutions
網站地圖 | 聯絡我們 | 隱私權政策 | 使用條款
著作權所有 © 2014 New York Hospital Queens
56-45 Main Street, Flushing, NY 11355

Dear Colleagues:

February is American Heart Month. This is a good time for a progress update on our cardiovascular services. Since we established our hospital as a cardiac surgery facility 15 years ago, the entire cardiovascular program has grown to where we are now: The Heart Hospital of Queens.

Over the past year we have announced several firsts that we have brought to the borough through the Heart & Vascular Center and our Kyrenia Heart Center. This progress is due to the high caliber of our faculty and voluntary medical staff.
Our success rate for our patients is well documented, and a few of the highlights from the past year include:

  • The cardiac program is in the top 10 percent of the nation for acute myocardial infarction (AMI) care. We scored 100 percent on AMI measures established by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid.
  • The cardiology and emergency medicine teams developed a new chest pain protocol for the emergency room that has resulted
    in a significant reduction in the number of chest pain admissions and decreased the length of stay for admitted patients.
  • Increasingly, we perform more cardiac catheterizations through the wrist, rather than using the traditional approach through an artery in the groin. For patients in which this procedure is appropriate, the wrist approach results in less bruising, bleeding, and fewer complications. We are one of a select number of heart centers in the U.S. that offer this approach—one that requires a high level of physician proficiency.
  • Since the arrival of Samuel Lang, M.D., as the chairman of our Cardiothoracic Surgery Department in early 2009, cardiac surgery volume has increased by 72 percent.

Committed to protecting the heart health of our community, we have developed a full slate of free programs to educate the public about heart disease and our hospital’s comprehensive cardiac program. (For details, see page "Program News").

In addition to establishing ourselves as the Heart Hospital of Queens, we have been recognized as one of the safest hospitals in the country according to national benchmarks. We have accomplished this by maintaining patient safety as a core element of our operations each and every day. 

Patient safety is a nationwide concern. The Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations, the national accrediting body for health care facilities, reviews patient safety failures that appear to be reccuring in hospitals nationwide. This year, seven national patient safety goals were issued by the Joint Commission as the standard for all accredited hospitals and for those seeking accreditation. 

One of the goals is to reduce the risk of health care-associated infections. We reduced hospital-acquired infections by making changes in the processes we had in place, and by including our physicians, nurses and all caregivers in developing the new process. A process that may have been “historically” the right way to approach patient care was dismantled and rebuilt based on evidenced-based practices that work best for patients. (For more on the results, see “Even Safer Patient Care,” page 4).

The technical skills of a clinical team mean nothing if care is not provided in a safe manner. We recruit our physicians and hospital support staff with a keen eye toward their safety practices.

Sincerely,


Stephen S. Mills, F.A.C.H.E.

PEOPLE & PROGRAMS

PEOPLE NEWS

The People of Haiti
Several weeks have passed since the devastating earthquake in Haiti. In that time our employees and medical staff have offered financial, emotional, and in some cases, their medical assistance for medical relief missions in Haiti. Our thoughts and prayers remain with our friends and colleagues who were affected by this cataclysm, and with the people of Haiti as they travel the long road to recovery.

Our Medical Community
To share research findings with the medical community, our physicians and clinicians publish their work in peer-reviewed journals, present it at medical conferences and speak to community-based organizations. As well, our clinicians are asked to participate as leaders in professional societies and organizations.

Amit Chandra, M.D., Emergency Medicine attending physician, co-authored a publication
in the January 2010 issue of the Journal of Emergencies, Trauma, and Shock titled
“Ultrasound-Guided Nerve Blocks in the Emergency Department.” This work was the result
of an international collaboration with American-based physicians and physicians in India.

Burton S. Wasserman, D.D.S., chairman, Dental and Oral Medicine, gave a presentation
"Treating Special Needs Patients in A Changing Environment,” at  S. P. Medical College in
Bikaner, India, sponsored by the India Dental Association.

Charles Lombardi, D.P.M., director of Podiatry, was re-elected to the Council on Podiatric
Education (CPME) as a director of this national organization that accredits all podiatric
residencies, colleges of podiatric medicine and certifying boards in podiatry. Additionally, he
was elected treasurer of the National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners (NBPME) which
develops and administers podiatric licensing examinations for podiatric medical students.

The Elected Officials Who Represent Us
We congratulate the city-based elected officials who were sworn-in last month. New York Hospital Queens is located in Council District 20. Listed below are the elected officials who work on behalf of the Queens community.

Citywide Offices

Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg
Public Advocate William De Blasio
Comptroller John Liu (formerly District 20 Council Member)

Queens Office

Queens Borough President Helen Marshall
Deputy Borough President Barry Grodenchik

City Council Members Representing Queens

Daniel Halloran III (District 19 – Bayside, Whitestone)
Peter Koo (District 20 -- Flushing)
Julissa Ferreras (District 21 -- Corona)
Peter Vallone (District 22 -- Astoria)
Mark Weprin (District 23 -- Hollis and Eastern Queens)
James Gennaro (District 24 -- Fresh Meadows)
Daniel Dromm (District 25 -- Jackson Heights)
James Van Bramer (District 26 -- Long Island City)
Leroy Comrie Jr. (District 27 -- St. Albans and southeastern Queens)
Thomas White Jr. (District 28 -- Richmond Hill, Rochdale Village, and South Jamaica)
Karen Koslowitz (District 29 -- Forest Hills and central Queens)
Elizabeth Crowley (District 30 -- Middle Village and western Queens)
James Sanders Jr. (District 31 -- southeastern Queens)
Eric Ulrich (District 32 -- Howard Beach and the Rockaways)

 

 PROGRAM NEWS

  Physicians and Public Learn About Orthopaedics and
Rehabilitation
As we invest in building a world class Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation program, we are making sure that it meets the needs of community-based physicians and their patients.

The Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation Center in Fresh Meadows was opened in 2009 and we are getting a great deal of positive feedback from the physicians and rehabilitation medicine specialists who are referring patients here. Already, the center’s hours of operations are expanding to accommodate demand. In January, a number of community-based physicians and rehabilitation medicine specialists came to an open house to learn more about the newest orthopaedic techniques and treatment options. They toured the new facility to view the advanced technological offerings including a vestibular device that is used to assess complaints of dizziness, vertigo or imbalance.

One of the reasons we are expanding our orthopaedic program is that the population of Queens is aging faster than other parts of the city. There is a growing need for orthopaedics and rehabilitative services here, as well as public education on disorders of the bones, muscles and joints. At a free community symposium last month, our specialists presented the latest news on these topics along with the benefits of minimally invasive orthopaedic procedures that are being performed by our team.

  A True Work of Art—The NYHQ Pediatrics Unit
An inviting, child-friendly environment helps set ill children and their parents at ease. Through art, imagination and a whole lot of paint, the children’s inpatient unit has been transformed into one major work of art. Giant wall murals throughout the hallways showcase the magnificence of Queens as seen through the eyes of a child—the NY Mets, the Hall of Science and the Queens Zoo. The project was made possible through the collaborative efforts of sponsors Starlight Children’s Foundation, mural artists Splashes of Hope and a donation from Benjamin Moore paints. It was unveiled for community leaders, elected officials and the community pediatricians last month.


Another First in Vascular Care at NYHQ

Gregg Landis, M.D., director of vascular & endovascular surgery and associate chairman of the Department of Surgery, recently used minimally invasive endoscopic surgery to repair an thoracic aortic aneurysm. This was the first time an endovascular stent procedure was performed at our hospital—and it is believed that this is the first time this procedure has been performed in Queens.

Heart Month at the Heart Hospital of Queens
As the Heart Hospital of Queens—we provide the expertise that the people of Queens can trust. We have made it our responsibility to educate the community about preventing and treating heart disease. As part of this, this month we celebrate “Heart Month.”

Medical staff from the Heart and Vascular Center will host a second annual symposium for the community on February 24. We have developed a month-long schedule of events for the public with free health screenings, a lecture series at the Flushing Library, the symposium and other heart-healthy events throughout February are available, please click here.

On February 5 we invite community leaders, elected officials and all members of our voluntary medical staff to rally behind the importance of spreading heart health awareness. We plan to make this statement by gathering all those “wearing red” and posing for a large group photo for the news media in the hospital cafeteria at noon. And, that evening, we will go to Flushing Meadows-Corona Park, where Estelle Cooper, Assistant Borough Commissioner for the Parks Department, will light the park’s iconic Unisphere in red. For more information about all heart month events, call (718) 670-1586.


PROGRESS

Even Safer Patient Care
Our Patient Safety Committee, led by Chief Medical Officer Stephen Rimar, M.D., and more than 100 hospital managers reviews our hospital-wide safety measures weekly—in one of the best ways possible—making rounds on patient floors to see our safety protocols in action.

We fortified a number of safety procedures in 2009. Our results surrounding the goal to reduce health care-associated infections are strong:

  • We had no cases of infections related to the placement of central line IVs in the Surgical Intensive Care Unit.
  • We reduced the rate of ventilator-associated pneumonia by 60 percent (for 6 months we had no cases) and reduced the rate of urinary tract infections in the ICUs by 70 percent (for 5 months we had no cases).
  • According to the National Database of Nursing Quality Indicators, we reduced hospital-acquired pressure ulcers by 75 percent and reduced hospital-wide restraint use by 58 percent. And, there were no incidents of restraint use in the critical care areas
  • We achieved 100 percent on all acute myocardial infarction (heart attack) measures, according to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid, scoring among the top 10 percent of all hospitals nationwide. We continue to exceed state and U.S. benchmarks in the other categories of measurement—pneumonia care, surgical care and heart failure care. In addition, we had a cardiac surgery mortality rate significantly below the state average.|
  • We achieved a median time of less than 60 minutes “door-to-door” from arrival in our Emergency Room until Percutaneous Coronary Intervention (cardiac catheterization and stent placement).

The NewYork-Presbyterian Healthcare System has established three patient safety focal points in 2010. As a system member, these are our areas of focus, as well. The focal points include initiating new procedures to stem both readmissions and hospital-acquired infections, as well as increasing the patient safety education for our nursing and medical staff.
 

Major Modernization Update
There has been significant progress on the new seven-story West Wing. The exterior of the building looks nearly complete. An exterior curtain wall, windows and metal panels are being installed, where the temporary hoist was located. This will be complete within the next few weeks. Two of the six new service elevators have been inspected and have been approved for operation.

             
Exterior curtain wall installation where hoist was located.

               
Progress on the elevators.

The start-up of the major mechanical equipment and the emergency generators began last month. The start-up of the boilers, heating system and gas service is pending approval by the city Buildings Department.

Regarding the interior work, installation of acoustic ceiling tiles, lighting fixtures, and ceramic tiling of the toilets and showers is in progress on the first and second floors.

All mechanical, electrical and plumbing roughing, including IT cabling, is complete on the fourth and fifth floors and continues on all other floors.  In two of the heart and vascular interventional procedure rooms, medical equipment was installed.

Next month, we look forward to publishing the date for our ribbon-cutting celebration.

###

 

 

 


 

Connect Healthcare Panacea CMS Solutions
Site Map | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Term of Use
Copyright © 2014 New York Hospital Queens
56-45 Main Street, Flushing, NY 11355