親愛的同仁:

我們能夠採取的正確措施,就是符合聯邦政府、州政府、市政府的安全要求以及美國醫療機構評鑑聯合會 (The Joint Commission) 的全國性病患安全目標 (National Patient Safety Goals),讓醫院變得更安全。但是,人性顯現,員工沒有洗手。令人憂心的是,已制定的這些所有安全措施,現在因為人們的陋習而受到危害。

病人的安全不能只是一種理論概念或目標。也不能僅是課程上講授的內容。它需要成為醫院文化與日常生活的一部份。進一步以洗手為例來進行探究,一項接一項的研究顯示,未做好正確的手部衛生是疾病傳播的重要因素。每年醫院都有提倡洗手運動。美國大部份醫院實行的比例真是令人慚愧地低,最多只有百分之 50 或 60 的醫院遵守。撇開事實不論,疾病防制中心 (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) 也是經年累月地強調,「洗手是防止感染擴散的一個最重要的方法。」

在紐約皇后區醫院 (NYHQ),由本院醫務長 Stephen Rimar, M.D. 帶領的病患安全委員會,擁有超過 100 位醫院管理人員,每週都會檢查全院的安全措施—以其中一個最好的可行方式—實際巡視病患樓層。團隊能夠看到我們確實執行各項安全規則,其中包括遵守洗手的習慣。Safety Leadership WalkRounds™ 這個概念最初是由健康照護促進學會 (Institute for Healthcare Improvement,IHI) 提出,為幫助資深領導者與員工聯繫的工具,以及對第一線工作人員傳達建立安全文化的真正承諾。其行之有效。

我相信定期巡訪這些區域,我們就能改變員工以及病人與家屬對病人安全的看法。任何申訴對我們都是非常重要的,無論是簡單或單一的問題。我看到原先猶豫不敢開口的員工,現在變得願意與大家分享關懷、周延的觀察以及有創意的想法,做出改變與改善。

如果我必須總結從巡房中得到的體驗,最好的方式之一就是瞭解病人安全的疑慮、工作時觀察我們的安全規劃,以及在巡視員工區域時教育他們。我們要為員工們以身作則。如果我們保持一致並加強執行正確的安全措施,就能去除壞習慣。

此致,


Stephen S. Mills, F.A.C.H.E.

人事與計畫


計畫新聞

  認識心臟健康
我們連同民選官員點燃 Flushing Meadows-Corona Park 中 Unisphere 地球儀的燈,用盛大的方式啟動健康心臟月 (Healthy Heart Month)。這個地標整個月都閃耀著紅色的燈光,提醒大家需要照顧心臟的健康。紐約皇后區醫院 (NYHQ) 員工也會身著紅衣,支持心臟健康。此外,我們還舉辦一系列的免費課程,教育大眾有關心臟病的資訊。

 

靜脈曲張雷射靜脈剝離術
上個月我們宣布將一種治療動脈瘤的新型血管腔外科手術引進皇后區。血管外科部的另一項首創是進行第一個雷射靜脈剝離術來治療靜脈曲張。微創門診手術是最先進的手術,能夠治療病患最常見的血管疾病:靜脈曲張。

脊椎和運動醫療服務
骨科與復健科最近新增兩個新的臨床服務,即運動醫療服務與脊椎治療服務,在南 4 區的骨科室,每週有幾個小時的門診。骨科外科主治醫師 Yong Kim, M.D. 負責脊椎治療服務。Tony Quach, M.D. 與 Alexander Golant, M.D. 將負責運動醫療服務。

新的運動醫療與大都會足球場基金會 (Met Oval Foundation) 結盟
骨科與復健科宣布,在運動醫療上將與大都會足球場基金會 (Metropolitan Oval Foundation) 共同合作,該基金會是皇后區 Maspeth 大都會 (Met Oval) 足球場的管理機構。這個場地是布魯克林騎士隊 (Brooklyn Knights)、美國足球發展學會 (U.S. Soccer Development Academy) 以及所有年紀的各類足球活動的主場地。這個新的聯盟關係讓醫院的專科醫師,能為大都會足球場 (Met Oval) 活動的參賽者提供預防運動傷害及治療方法等相關資訊。對於選擇接受醫療服務的大都會足球場 (Met Oval) 活動參賽者,骨科與復健科專科醫師將在 Flushing 的各大醫療機構或在 Fresh Meadows 的門診中心提供照護與治療。

紐約皇后區醫院 (NYHQ) 對消化系統潰瘍的新檢驗
病理檢驗科已引進新的 Breath-Tek™ 呼吸採集儀,來檢驗是否有幽門桿菌 (H. pylori bacterium),這種細菌是導致消化系統潰瘍的最主要致病因素。一個小時內醫師就能取得測試結果。這項檢驗方式不但簡單也沒有侵入性,可替代內視鏡,能夠直接在醫師診間或檢驗室進行。禁食至少一小時以上之後,讓患者呼氣到收集袋中。接著,患者喝一些無味液體後,再呼氣到第二個收集袋中。然後,這兩個袋子會連到電腦化的測量裝置上。第二次呼氣採樣與第一次呼氣採樣之間的特定變化將顯示是否有幽門桿菌 (H. pylori bacterium) 存在。


人事消息

我們很高興宣佈最近關於主治醫師的三項任命。

Antoine Rabinowitz, M.D. 已加入我們醫院,任職放射科的專科主治醫師。他於 1998 - 2002 年間任職於聖文森醫院及醫療中心 (St. Vincent’s Hospital and Medical Center)、White Plains 市紐約醫學院 (New York Medical College) 聖安格尼斯醫院 (St. Agnes Hospital) 以及大都會醫學中心 (Metropolitan Hospital Center)。隨後於西奈山醫療中心 (Mount Sinai Medical Center) 完成放射科住院實習與專科研究,並在蒙特弗爾醫療中心 (Montefiore Medical Center) 完成內科住院實習。

Ari Jonisch, M.D. 已加入我們醫院,任職肌肉骨骼放射科主治醫師。他在紐約 Syracuse 的上州醫學大學 (Upstate Medical University) 取得醫學學位,於耶魯紐黑文醫院 (Yale New Haven Hospital) 完成放射科住院實習,並在紐約大學關節病醫院 (NYU Hospital for Joint Diseases) 完成肌肉骨骼專科研究。

內科部神經科主治醫師 Reza Zarnegar, D.O. 最近加入神經科學中心。Dr. Zarnegar 在康乃爾大學 Weill 醫學院 (Weill Medical College of Cornell University) 完成在癲癇症、神經肌肉疾病以及手術中神經生理監測的專科研究訓練。他負責的項目之一是 Fresh Meadows 的神經科學中心的 EMG 實驗室。


我們的醫師和臨床醫師在醫學會議上展示他們的研究成果。身為教育者,他們在培訓住院醫師、研究員及其他臨床專科醫師上扮演重要角色。他們為了醫學的進步進行研究並發表研究成果。

急診醫學科助理住院醫師主任 Manish Sharma, D.O., M.B.A. 本月在 Orlando 舉行的急診醫療住院醫師主任委員會 (Council for Emergency Medicine Residency Directors,CORD) 學術會議中的教學討論會上進行發表。他的發表內容涵蓋了急診醫療住院醫師的核心能力訓練,並且使用無線聽眾應答系統在小組學習環境中得到即時回饋。

急診醫學科主治醫師 Jose D. Torres, Jr., M.D. 負責胸腔內科及重症照護總查房。他討論困難的呼吸道處理技術,包括純氧急救、氣管插管以及呼吸道輔助器。

EMS 主任 Rachel Waldron, M.D.Dr. Jose Torres 主持培訓會議,對紐約皇后區醫院 (NYHQ) 醫護人員介紹困難的呼吸道輔助器與更高階的技術,藉此提升他們將重症患者送往醫院途中但標準方法無法奏效時,而能夠成功進行供氧的能力。George Benedetto Jr., M.P.A. EMT-P 為紐約皇后區醫院 (NYHQ) 病患模擬中心主任,在訓練活動中納入模擬病患來輔助培訓會議。

急診醫學科副住院醫師主任 David Barlas, M.D. 在 2010 年被重新任命為急診醫療年刊 (Annals of Emergency Medicine) 的資深同儕評鑑員。

骨科與復健科主任 Jeffrey E. Rosen, M.D. 是下列兩個業界贊助之臨床試驗的主要調查員:為期 26 週,採雙盲、隨機、安慰劑研究的療效,和單劑關節內注射 1.2% 玻尿酸鈉治療膝蓋骨關節炎疼痛的安全性,以及選擇延長 26 週開放標籤的安全試驗;以及,進行非隨機、外部控制、開放標籤多元中心的關鍵性研究,檢驗 HemiCap 技術表面置換股骨髁人工關節的安全性與療效。

   外科部整型外科主治醫師 S. Daniel Huang, M.D. 為整型外科會議的主要發言人與總查房。Dr. Huang 發表最新的雷射杜普勤技術、組織氧以及流量探針技術的更新資訊,用來監測微血管開放性與組織活力。Dr. Huang 領導整型外科致力改善微血管重建的臨床評估。

 

進展

重大現代化方案更新
剪綵日期:2010 年 6 月 16 日下午 5 點半
我們已為新建的七層樓西側大樓訂定剪綵典禮與招待會日期。我們誠摯歡迎您在 2010 年 6 月 16 日下午 5 點半,與我們一起慶祝醫院與皇后區的這個歷史時刻。

如果您曾經參與 2007 年 2 月 9 日破土典禮,我們深感榮幸邀請您能夠回來參加剪綵典禮。

 

 

新大樓進度
西側大樓外邊的周邊環境已經整理完成。車道的外部頂篷仍在修建中。新大樓有六部電梯,其中兩部已經開始啟用;其他四部電梯仍在維修中。

鍋爐和暖氣系統預期本月就會啟用,目前仍在等待紐約市建管處 (New York City Buildings Department) 的最後核准。護理站的傢具也擺設完成。排定在本月月底開始舖設地板。

   

慶祝紐約皇后區醫院 (NYHQ) 醫療成果的春晚慶祝活動
2010 年 6 月 7 日我們將在曼哈頓的林肯表演藝術中心 (Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts) 慶祝醫院的整體醫療成果以及完成重大現代化方案。當晚,我們也會頒發 2010 年領導者獎章 (Year 2010 Pacesetter Award) 給 Julian DeLia, M.D.,她是治療雙胞胎兒輸血症候群的先鋒。另外,也會請到老牌喜劇藝人 Bill Cosby 在晚會中表演。

就在我們即將於 6 月開放壯觀的新建西側大樓之時,本院正好處於一個歷史時刻。我們的醫師群、公司、組織以及社區領袖對春晚慶祝活動 (Spring Night Gala) 的支持,是我們進一步為社區提供高品質照護使命的關鍵。

我們邀請您為這個特殊活動購買一桌餐費或餐券,或是參與我們的特別廣告期刊。如需更多資訊,請致電公共事務與行銷部門 (718) 670-1564。

Albany 的醫療照護募款權益宣導
我們醫院加入全美其他幫助我們發聲的機構,我們關切 Paterson 州長在紐約州 2010 年領袖權益宣導日 (New York State’s 2010 Leadership Advocacy Day) 的醫療照護協會 (Healthcare Association) 對於稅務和醫療照護預算削減的提案。

醫院的行政團隊和董事會成員將在 3 月 3 日訪問 Albany,與眾議會和參議院的州議員們會面,討論州長預算提案的影響。我們團隊將力促州立法機關的議員們反對醫療照護提供者預算縮減及課稅,確保 FMAP 基金能夠用來貼補醫療照護提供者的課稅及預算縮減。

我們鼓勵醫院內的員工及社區居民加入一人一信活動,寄給代表我們人民的州議員們。請瀏覽 www.helpyourhospital.orgwww.helpyournursinghome.org 網站,瞭解州長關於縮減預算的提案將為當地的醫療照護提供者帶來哪些傷害。請寄信給當地的州議員們,反對削減醫療照護預算。

###

 


 

Connect Healthcare Panacea CMS Solutions
網站地圖 | 聯絡我們 | 隱私權政策 | 使用條款
著作權所有 © 2014 New York Hospital Queens
56-45 Main Street, Flushing, NY 11355

Dear Colleagues:

We can do all the right things to make a hospital safer, by complying with the safety requirements of the federal, state and local governments and the Joint Commission’s National Patient Safety Goals. But, then, human nature steps in, an employee doesn’t wash their hands. What’s vexing is that all those safety procedures that have been put into place now fall victim to a person’s old habits.

Patient safety cannot be a theoretical concept or goal. It can’t just be taught in a course. It needs to be part of the hospital’s culture and daily life.  Looking further at the example of hand washing, study after study shows that improper hand hygiene contributes significantly to disease transmission. Every year hospitals have hand washing campaigns. The rates at most U.S. hospitals are shamefully low—at best, 50 percent or 60 percent compliance. This, despite the fact, that the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has said for years that, “Hand washing is the single most important means of preventing the spread of infection." |

At New York Hospital Queens, our Patient Safety Committee, led by our chief medical officer Stephen Rimar, M.D., and more than 100 hospital managers, reviews our hospital-wide safety measures weekly— in one of the best ways possible—making rounds on patient floors. The team gets to see our safety protocols in action, this includes hand washing compliance.Safety Leadership WalkRounds™ is a concept that originated from the Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI) that was conceived as a tool to help senior leaders connect with staff and signal to front-line workers a true commitment to creating a culture of safety. It truly works.

I believe that by visiting these areas regularly we have made a difference in both the staff’s views of patient safety as well as patients’ and families. No complaint is insignificant, simple or an isolated problem. I have witnessed the transition of a staff who were hesitant to speak up but are now are eager to share concerns, thoughtful observations and creative ideas for change and improvement. 

If I had to sum up what I have learned from our rounds, it is that they are among one of the best ways to hear about patient safety concerns, observe our safety plan at work, and educate staff while visiting their areas. The staff learns by us and by our example. Bad habits are broken if we remain consistent and reinforce the correct way of doing things.

Sincerely,


Stephen S. Mills, F.A.C.H.E.

PEOPLE & PROGRAMS


Program News

  Heart Health Awareness
We launched Healthy Heart Month in a big way with the lighting of the Unisphere in Flushing Meadows-Corona Park, joined by elected officials. The landmark glowed red throughout the month as a visible reminder of the need to keep hearts healthy. NYHQ employees also dressed in red in support of heart health. In addition, we held a full slate of free programs to educate the public about heart disease.

 

Laser Vein Ablation for Varicose Veins
Last month we announced that a new type of endovascular surgery performed for aneurysm repair was brought to Queens. In another first for the Division of Vascular Surgery, we performed the first laser vein ablation to treat varicose veins. This minimally invasive ambulatory procedure is state-of-the-art in the care of patients with one of the most common vascular disorders: venous disease.

Spine and Sports Medicine Service
The Department of Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation recently added two new clinical services, the Sports Medicine Service and the Spine Service, with hours biweekly at the orthopaedic offices on 4 South. Yong Kim, M.D., attending orthopaedic surgeon, runs the Spine Service. Tony Quach, M.D., and Alexander Golant, M.D., will maintain the Sports Medicine Service.

New Sports Medicine Affiliation with Met Oval Foundation
The Department of Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation announces a sports medicine association with the Metropolitan Oval Foundation, administrator of the Met Oval soccer field in Maspeth, Queens. The field is home to the Brooklyn Knights, the U.S. Soccer Development Academy and numerous soccer programs for all ages. The new relationship will enable the hospital’s medical specialists to provide participants in Met Oval programs with information about sports injury prevention and treatment options. For those Met Oval program participants who choose to use the hospital’s services, the orthopaedic and rehabilitation medicine specialists will provide care and treatment in the main hospital facility in Flushing, or in an outpatient Center located in Fresh Meadows.

New Test for Ulcers at NYHQ
The Department of Laboratories and Pathology has acquired a new Breath-Tek™ breath collection kit to detect the presence of the H. pylori bacterium, the leading cause of peptic ulcer disease. Results can be made available to physicians within one hour. This test, which presents an easy, noninvasive alternative to endoscopy, can be administered in a physician’s office or in the laboratory. After fasting for at least one hour, the patient exhales into a collection bag. Next, the patient drinks a tasteless liquid and exhales into a second bag. Both bags are then affixed to a computerized measurement device. Specific changes in the second breath sample over the first will indicate the presence of the H. pylori bacterium.


People News

We are pleased to announce three recent appointments of attending physicians.

Antoine Rabinowitz, M.D., has joined our hospital as a board certified attending radiologist, Department of Radiology. He has held appointments at St. Vincent’s Hospital and Medical Center, New York Medical College at White Plains (St. Agnes Hospital), and Metropolitan Hospital Center, 1998-2002. He completed his radiology residency and fellowship at Mount Sinai Medical Center and completed an internal medicine residency at Montefiore Medical Center.

Ari Jonisch, M.D., has joined our hospital as an attending radiologist with a specialty in musculoskeletal radiology. He achieved his medical degree at Upstate Medical University, Syracuse, N.Y. He completed his radiology residency at Yale New Haven Hospital and completed his musculoskeletal fellowship at the NYU Hospital for Joint Disease.

Reza Zarnegar, D.O., attending physician, Neurology Division, Department of Medicine, recently joined the Neuroscience Center. Dr. Zarnegar completed fellowship training in epilepsy, neuromuscular diseases and intraoperative neurophysiological monitoring at Weill Medical College of Cornell University. Among his responsibilities is the EMG laboratory at the Neuroscience Institute offices in Fresh Meadows.


Our physicians and clinicians present their work at medical conferences. As educators, they are instrumental in training residents, fellows and other clinical professionals. They conduct and publish their research for the advancement of medicine.

Manish Sharma, D.O., M.B.A., assistant emergency medicine residency director, is presenting at an educational session at the Council for Emergency Medicine Residency Directors (CORD) Academic Assembly in Orlando this month. His presentation covers core competency training for emergency medicine residents and the use of a wireless audience response system for immediate feedback in a group-learning environment.

Jose D. Torres, Jr., M.D., attending emergency medicine physician, addressed our Department of Medicine’s Pulmonary and Critical Care Grand Rounds. He discussed difficult airway management techniques including rescue oxygenation, endotracheal intubation and airway adjuncts.

Rachel Waldron, M.D., EMS director, and Dr. Jose Torres hosted a training session to introduce NYHQ paramedics to difficult airway adjuncts and advanced techniques to improve their ability to successfully oxygenate and ventilate critically ill patients en route to the hospital when standard methods fail. George Benedetto Jr., M.P.A. EMT-P, Director of the NYHQ Patient Simulation Center, assisted with the training session by incorporating simulation patients in the exercise.

David Barlas, M.D., associate emergency medicine residency director, was re-appointed a senior peer reviewer for the journal Annals of Emergency Medicine for 2010.

Jeffrey E. Rosen, M.D., chairman, Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation, is the lead investigator in two industry-sponsored clinical trials: A 26 Week, Double-Blind, Randomized, Placebo-Controlled Study of the Efficacy and Safety of Single Intra-Articular Injection of 1.2% Sodium Hyaluronate for Treatment of Painful Osteoarthritis of the Knee, with Optional 26-Week Open-Label Safety Extension; and A Prospective, Non-Randomized, Externally Controlled, Open Label Multi-Center, Pivotal Study to Examine the Safety and Effectiveness of the HemiCap Focal Femoral Condyle Resurfacing Prosthesis.

   S. Daniel Huang, M.D., attending plastic surgeon from the Department of Surgery was the principal speaker at the Plastic Surgery Division meeting and Grand Rounds.  Dr. Huang gave an update on the latest laser Doppler, tissue oxygen, and flow probe technology available for the monitoring of microvascular patency and tissue viability.  Dr. Huang is leading the Plastic Surgery Division's effort to refine the clinical assessment of microvascular reconstructions.

 

PROGRESS

Major Modernization Update
Save the Date: June 16, 2010 at 5:30 p.m.
We have set a date for our ribbon-cutting ceremony and reception for the new seven-story West Wing. We hope that you will be able to join us as we celebrate this historical event for the hospital and this community on June 16, 2010, at 5:30 p.m.

We would be deeply honored to have many of you who attended the February 9, 2007 groundbreaking ceremony to return for the ribbon-cutting ceremony.

 

 

Progress on the New Building
The exterior for the perimeter of the West Wing is complete. The exterior canopy for the drive-up car drop off continues to be under construction. Two of six elevators in the new building are operational; work continues on the remaining four elevators.

The boilers and heating system are expected to start up this month pending final approval by the New York City Buildings Department. The installation of the built-in furniture on the nursing units has commenced. The installation of flooring is scheduled to begin at the end of this month.

   

A Spring Night Gala Celebrates NYHQ Accomplishments
On June 7, 2010, at the Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts in Manhattan, we will celebrate our collective hospital accomplishments and the completion of our major modernization program. We will also present the Year 2010 Pacesetter Award to Julian DeLia, M.D., a pioneer in the treatment of twin-to-twin transfusion syndrome.  Entertainment will be provided by legendary entertainer and comedian, Bill Cosby.

As we prepare to open the doors to our spectacular new West Wing in June, we are at a historic moment in the history our medical center.  Support of A Spring Night Gala by our physicians, corporations, and organizations and community leaders is critical as we further our mission to provide the highest quality of care to our community. 

We invite you to purchase a table or tickets to this very special event or to participate in our special advertising journal.  For additional information, call the Division of Public Affairs and Marketing at (718) 670-1564.

Health Care Funding Advocacy in Albany
Our hospital is joining others across the state that are taking action to voice our concerns about Governor Paterson’s proposed taxes and health care cuts at the Healthcare Association of New York State’s 2010 Leadership Advocacy Day.

A team of administrators and board members from are hospital will visit Albany on March 3 and meet with state legislators from the Assembly and Senate to discuss the impact of the Governor’s proposed budget. The team will urge members of the state Legislature to oppose health care provider cuts and taxes and to ensure that FMAP funds be used to offset health care provider taxes and cuts.

We are encouraging our employees and members from the community to participate in a letter writing campaign addressed to our state legislators who represent us. Please go to www.helpyourhospital.org and www.helpyournursinghome.org to find out how the Governor’s proposed budget cuts will harm local health care providers. Send letters to local state legislators in opposition to health care funding cuts.

###

 


 

Connect Healthcare Panacea CMS Solutions
Site Map | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Term of Use
Copyright © 2014 New York Hospital Queens
56-45 Main Street, Flushing, NY 11355