紐約皇后區醫院 (NYHQ) 全國知名糖尿病專家肯定為降低糖尿病患者心臟病發作所作的努力正朝正確的方向發展

Wednesday, March 17, 2010

即刻發佈
聯絡人:
Cynthia Bacon (718) 670-2515
David Levine (212) 772-9447

ACCORD 臨床試驗其中一位主要研究員的評論

2010 年 3 月 17 日紐約 Flushing 院區消息 – 紐約皇后區醫院 (NYHQ) 是 ACCORD(糖尿病患者的心血管風險研究 (Action to Control Cardiovascular Risk in Diabetes))臨床試驗的其中一個研究地點,負責研究積極治療對預防第 2 型糖尿病患者發生心臟病與中風的療效。這項研究結果已在上週末於美國心臟病學學會 (American College of Cardiology) 會議上發表,並刊登在「新英格蘭醫學期刊」(New England Journal of Medicine) 網站上。

根據政府的統計數據顯示,大約有 2400 萬美國人,其中 730,000 紐約人罹患第 2 型糖尿病。「由於糖尿病成人患者與沒有糖尿病的人相比,心臟病發作或中風的機率高出二到四成,聯邦政府已將降低這個數字列為優先項目。」紐約皇后區醫院 (NYHQ) 內分泌科主任與尤金與泰瑞莎?藍恩研究與教育中心 (Eugene and Theresa Lang Center for Research and Education) 副主任 Daniel Lorber, M.D., F.A.C.P., C.D.E. 這樣說。Dr. Lorber 是 ACCORD 臨床試驗的主要研究員。

這項大型試驗從 1999 年開始,多年來招集了 10,000 多位參與者,其中 62 位是從 2001 年 1 月到 2005 年 10 月間加入的紐約皇后區醫院 (NYHQ) 病患。調查員發現積極將血壓降到目前建議值以下,或是增加降低三酸甘油酯及提高 HDL(好的膽固醇)的 fibrate 類藥物加上 statin 類藥物(降低 LDL 或壞的膽固醇),並沒有達到心臟病與糖尿病專家們希望在大部份病人身上見到的療效。但藥物的確可達到最低 HDL 與最高三酸甘油酯的效果而降低病患罹患心血管的風險。

Dr. Lorber 提到研究結果顯示,儘管試驗發現這樣的結果,但是醫學界所採用的治療方式還是正確的。「控制膽固醇,特別是 LDL 膽固醇,是預防心臟病發作與中風的關鍵。保持正常的血壓與控制血糖也是很重要的。ACCORD 研究顯示,有時候做得更多不見得療效更好,因此積極治療並不適用於每位病患。」

ACCORD 臨床試驗是國家衛生研究院 (National Institutes of Health) 贊助的三項全國性臨床試驗的其中一項,而紐約皇后區醫院 (NYHQ) 是其中一個試驗研究地點。中心主任 Phyllis August, M.D., M.P.H. 是主要研究員(與 Dr. Lorber 一起),也是 BARI 2D(穩定型缺血性心臟病的第 2 型糖尿病患者 (Bypass Angioplasty Revascularization Investigation in Type 2 Diabetes))研究的撰述委員會成員。這份研究發現,在密集醫藥療程中的即時血管重建術,對於第 2 型糖尿病患者以及穩定冠狀動脈疾病的致死率與重大心血管疾病方面,並沒有顯著的益處。

中心目前正在進行新的 NIH 研究,也稱為 TINSAL-T2D,判斷稱為 salicylates 的阿斯匹靈 (Aspirin) 類藥物的新療法,對第 2 型糖尿病患者的療效。這項全國性臨床研究的目標,是測定雙水楊酸酯 (salsalate) 藥物對這類病患的療效。紐約皇后區醫院 (NYHQ) 積極尋求年齡介於 18 至 75 歲之間,罹患第 2 型糖尿病的患者參與臨床試驗。符合條件且有興趣參加試驗的糖尿病患者,請撥 (718) 670-2914 瞭解詳細資訊。

在紐約皇后區醫院 (NYHQ) 的研究由 2001 年成立的藍恩研究與教育中心 (Eugene and Theresa Lang Center for Research and Education) 協調進行。本中心的目標是導入最先進的臨床研究以學習新知識,並將研究及教育與臨床照護整合。藍恩家族慷慨解囊,資助紐約皇后區醫院 (NYHQ) 目前進行的 120 多項研究調查。

紐約皇后區醫院 (NYHQ) 是紐約長老教會健康照護系統 (NewYork-Presbyterian Healthcare System) 的成員,並且與康乃爾大學 Weill 醫學院 (Weill Medical College of Cornell University) 結盟。

###

編輯者備註: Dr. Lorber 願意就糖尿病以及 ACCORD 與 TINSAL 臨床試驗等項議題接受訪談。他的專長為糖尿病之健康照護及其社會因素。他曾擔任許多州立及全國性的糖尿病學會職務,其中包含紐約糖尿病協會 (New York Diabetes Association) 及美國糖尿病協會 (American Diabetes Association)。在 2009 年,美國糖尿病協會 (American Diabetes Association) 因 Dr. Lorber 多年的貢獻及研究,頒贈「傑出臨床醫師獎」。

 

 

 
Connect Healthcare Panacea CMS Solutions
網站地圖 | 聯絡我們 | 隱私權政策 | 使用條款
著作權所有 © 2014 New York Hospital Queens
56-45 Main Street, Flushing, NY 11355

Home > For Media

New York Hospital Queens Nationally Recognized Diabetes Expert Says Efforts to Reduce Heart Attacks in Diabetic Patients are on the Right Track

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
CONTACTS:
Cynthia Bacon (718) 670-2515
David Levine (212) 772-9447

Comments by One of the Principal Investigators of the ACCORD Trial

Flushing, N.Y March 17, 2010 – New York Hospital Queens (NYHQ) was one of the investigative sites for the ACCORD  trial (Action to Control Cardiovascular Risk in Diabetes), which looked at the effectiveness of an aggressive treatment regimen to prevent heart attacks and strokes in patients with Type 2  diabetes. The results were presented at the American College of Cardiology meeting this past weekend and published online in The New England Journal of Medicine.

According to government figures, there are an estimated 24 million Americans and 730,000 New Yorkers with Type 2 diabetes.  “Because adults with diabetes are two to four times more likely to have heart disease or suffer a stroke than people without diabetes, the federal government has made it a priority to reduce these numbers,” says Daniel Lorber, M.D., F.A.C.P., C.D.E, director of NYHQ’s Division of Endocrinology and Associate Director of the Theresa and Eugene M. Lang Center for Research and Education. Dr. Lorber was a principal investigator for the ACCORD trial. 

The trial began in 1999 and over the years recruited over 10,000 participants including 62 patients from NYHQ who enrolled from January 2001 – October 2005. The investigators found that  aggressively lowering blood pressure below the current recommended  levels or adding a fibrate drug that lowers triglycerides and raises HDL (the good cholesterol) with a statin drug (which lowers LDL or the bad cholesterol) did not achieve the outcomes that heart and diabetes experts had hoped for in most patients. The drug did decrease cardiovascular events in the patient subjects with the lowest HDL and highest triglycerides.

Dr. Lorber says the results show that despite these findings the approach that the medical community has been taking in diabetes is the correct one. “Controlling cholesterol, especially LDL cholesterol, is key in preventing heart attacks and strokes. Having good blood pressure and glucose control is also important. The ACCORD study showed that sometimes doing more does not translate to doing better and that aggressive treatment is not the answer for every patient.”

The ACCORD trial is one of three national trials sponsored by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) for which NYHQ has served as an investigational site. The Center’s director, Phyllis August, M.D., M.P.H., was a principal investigator (along with Dr. Lorber) and on the writing committee for BARI 2D, short for the Bypass Angioplasty Revascularization Investigation in Type 2 Diabetes study. This study found that there was no significant advantage of prompt revascularization over intensive medical therapy on mortality and major cardiovascular events in patients with Type 2 diabetes and stable coronary artery disease. 

The Center is currently involved in a new NIH study, known as TINSAL-T2D, to determine whether aspirin relatives, called salicylates, represent a new treatment  option  for  patients with Type 2 diabetes. The goal of this nationwide research study is to determine the effectiveness of the drug salsalate on this population. NYHQ is actively looking for volunteers for the study who have Type 2 diabetes and are between the ages of 18 to 75. People with diabetes who meet the criteria and are interested in taking part in this study should call (718) 670-2914 for further information.

Research at NYHQ is coordinated by the Lang Center for Research and Education which was established in 2001. The goal of the Center is to create new knowledge by conducting cutting-edge clinical research and to integrate excellent clinical care with research and education. Generous funding by the Lang family has helped to make possible the over 120 research studies currently in progress at NYHQ.

New York Hospital Queens is a member of the NewYork-Presbyterian Healthcare System and an affiliate of the Weill Medical College of Cornell University.

###

Note to Editors: Dr. Lorber is available for interviews on diabetes and the ACCORD and TINSAL trials. His special interests include diabetes and all its health care and social aspects. He has held numerous committee positions for a variety of state and national organizations focused on diabetes including the New York Diabetes Association and the American Diabetes Association.  In 2009, the American Diabetes Association awarded Dr. Lorber its “Outstanding Physician Clinician Award” for his years of dedication and research.

 

 

 
Connect Healthcare Panacea CMS Solutions
Site Map | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Term of Use
Copyright © 2014 New York Hospital Queens
56-45 Main Street, Flushing, NY 11355